ISO 20K Certification Process

Thinking about ISO/IEC 20000 certification? Here are the steps involved.

1. Questionnaire:
The service provider contacts one or several Registered Certification Bodies (RCBs). Each RCB will send a questionnaire with information needed to submit a quotation. Based on the quotations, the provider can select a RCB.

2. Application for assessment:
An application form is completed and returned to the chosen RCB. A lead auditor is assigned and an initial visit scheduled. The auditor will explain the assessment process, an audit program will be agreed and the assessment date selected.

3. Optional pre-audit:
This is a high-level evaluation to determine where the company stands in compliance with ISO/IEC 20000. The auditor will point out any areas of concern to give the provider an opportunity to improve before the initial audit.

4. Initial audit:
In this session the scoping statement is agreed upon and the auditor plans the certification audit. Documentation and evidence of compliance are reviewed. Non conformance items are added to the Corrective Action Plan (CAP).

5. Certification audit:
The assessment to the standard is now being executed. The RCB will look for records, proof, that the management system is in line with the ISO 20000 specification. On completion of the audit the RCB will present the findings in a written report. Non conformances will feed into the CAP. Following a successful certification audit and the decision by the RCB to grant registration; a certificate of registration is awarded. The client is now permitted to use the certification body certification mark and the relevant ISO 20000 certification mark.

6. Surveillance audits:
A schedule of surveillance audits are undertaken over a three year period to ensure that the management system is working properly. The actual frequency will depend on the RCB.

7. Re-certification audit:
This is carried out every three years. All controls are evaluated to ensure that the QMS is operating properly and if it is, certification is renewed for another three years. Any non-conformity will be added to the CAP, where it will be addressed. The three year surveillance audit process starts all over again.


Excellent Information, Thanks very much

Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

The Difference between Change and Release Management

Search This Blog