Skip to main content

MOF's Question Based Guidance

During a discussion in a recent Intro to MOF class, we talked about some of the best practice guidance from MOF that we would use in our ITSM improvement initiatives.  We had an enthusiastic “YES” that the MOF question based guidance will be a most welcome addition in our toolkit.  Let’s talk a little bit about MOF and what this guidance entails.

MOF is a Microsoft Solution Accelerator that helps integrate IT best practices, governance and risk, compliance, and team accountabilities for managing key functions across the IT service life cycle. In the documents, MOF provides scripted questions to help organizations drive service improvements by process or stage or activity. For example, the MOF Reliability Accelerator offers direction on understanding, setting targets and measuring IT service reliability. It addresses creating plans for the following areas: 
  • Confidentiality
  • Integrity
  • Availability
  • Continuity
  • Capacity
Here is an example of the question based guidance from MOF 4.0 which addresses some of the key issues in creating a Service Availability plan.   
  • What are the key components that make up this service? 
  • Are there any single points of failure in the application delivery architecture? Can we mitigate these? 
  • How has this service performed in the past, either in production or in a pilot or lab environment? What have we learned from this, and how will it affect our availability planning? 
  • What are the specific recoverability targets for this service? Are they achievable, or do we need to evaluate new or alternate technologies such as virtualization or clustering? 
  • Do we need vendors or suppliers to deliver components of this service? Are they able to commit to OLAs?
  • Does trend data highlight inherent resilience problems with this service or its components? 
Using these questions will ensure that we have covered specific issues in our service management initiative.  Above is just one section, one example, of the hundreds of key questions included in the MOF Solution Accelerators.  MOF 4.0 is available to download for free. Take a look at it, use these questions, and take the best from the frameworks to improve your services.  

Look for more about MOF in upcoming blogs from the ITSM Professor. Do you know what a MOF Management Review is? We will discuss this soon. Also, if you are interested in learning more about best practice frameworks, join us in our upcoming webinar on Jan 20, 2011. It is titled ‘Integrating ITSM Frameworks, Standards and Processes’ presented by Jayne Groll.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you.

Roles and Responsibilities:
Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance.Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables. An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the policies (r…

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service".
I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize:
SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle.
ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs …

ITIL 4 – Mapping the Customer Journey

All service providers are in the business of customer and user experience. It is not enough to compete on products and services, how services are delivered is as important as what is delivered.

The customer journey is the complete end-to-end experience customers have with one or more service providers and/or their products through the touchpoints and service interactions with those providers. In order to focus on the outcomes and on the customer/user experience, service providers are seeking to master the art of mapping their customer journey. Doing so allows them to maximize stakeholder value through co-creation of value throughout the entire value chain.

The customer journey begins by understanding the overall macro-level of steps or groups of activities that generate the need for interaction between the customer and the service provider. These activities begin at “Explore” and end with “Realize” where the value is actually being consumed by the end-users.
The Band of Visibility