Process Maturity Framework (PMF) - Part 1

I am often asked about the best way to measure process maturity.  While there are several process maturity models available, I prefer the “Process Maturity Framework” (Appendix H pg 263) from the V3 ITIL Service Design Book. You can utilize this framework to measure your Service Management processes individually or Service Management as a whole.

The five areas that the assessment should focus on are:
  • Vision and Steering
  • Process
  • People
  • Technology
  • Culture

The major characteristics of the Process Maturity Framework (PMF) are the following:
Initial (Level 1)
The process has been recognized but there is little or no process management activity and it is allocated no importance, resources or focus within the organization. This level can also be described as ‘ad hoc’ or occasionally even ‘chaotic’.

Repeatable (Level 2)
The process has been recognized and is allocated little importance, resource or focus within the operation. Generally activities related to the process are uncoordinated, irregular, without direction and are directed towards process effectiveness.

Defined (Level 3)
The process has been recognized and is documented but there is no formal agreement, acceptance or recognition of its role within the IT operation as a whole. However, the process has a process owner, formal objectives and targets with allocated resources, and is focused on the efficiency as well as the effectiveness of the process. Reports and results are stored for future reference.

Managed (Level 4) 
The process has now been fully recognized and accepted throughout IT. It is service focused and has objectives and targets that are based on business objectives and goals. The process is fully defined, managed and has become proactive, with documented, established interfaces and dependencies with other IT processes.

Optimizing (Level 5)
The process has now been fully recognized and has strategic objectives and goals aligned with overall strategic business and IT goals. These have now become ‘institutionalized’ as part of the everyday activity for everyone involved with the process. A self-contained continual process of improvement is established as part of the process, which is now developing a pre-emptive capability.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

The Difference between Change and Release Management

Search This Blog