ITIL® 4 is Coming. ITIL Practitioner Provides a Sneak Peak.

AXELOS® is currently working on ITIL 4, a community and industry-led initiative. A key finding from ongoing research is that ITIL is still widely adopted and used. So too are practices such as Agile (including Agile Service Management), Lean and DevOps. These practices don’t make ITIL irrelevant. The ‘what’ and ‘why’ of ITIL – such as the need to focus on value and design for customer experience – continue to be relevant.  ITIL 4 also keeps many of the core practices and processes found in ITIL V3/2011 intact. It’s the ‘how’ that needs to be adapted as organizations learn and benefit from these modern practices. ITIL Practitioner introduces guiding principles that embrace the ‘essence’ of ITSM and Agile and Lean and DevOps. These guiding principles – which will be carried forward into ITIL 4 – serve as succinct reminders that modern ITSM requires new ways of thinking and new ways of working. 

Numerous books have been written about how Toyota was able to dramatically improve its performance by adopting what we now call ‘Lean’ practices. What isn’t widely recognized is that the training done by Toyota early on was focused on developing people’s reasoning abilities, rather than pushing them to execute specialist-derived systems (Lean Thinking, Womack and Jones).

In other words, what Toyota taught its employees was how to think. How to reflect on obstacles and then overcome those obstacles by progressing iteratively towards the organization’s vision and goals. 

This is the approach we take in ITIL Practitioner. We focus on the need to observe directly your organization’s current circumstances, needs and goals and then work holistically and transparently towards the desired future state. 

Whether your organization is adapting its ITSM processes in support of Agile and DevOps, or extending your ITSM practices to the enterprise, let’s call it what it is – continuous improvement – and let’s provide the education that allows ITSM professionals to expose themselves to these new ways of thinking and working and to understand the part they play in bringing these practices to life.

What are the critical competencies needed to achieve this culture of continuous improvement? Communication. Measurement and metrics. Organizational change management. All of which are covered in ITIL Practitioner and will carry forward to ITIL 4. Don’t wait for ITIL 4. Start where you are and learn the principles and practices needed to meet your organization’s needs today. 

Ready to get started? Send an email with the ITIL guiding principle NOT referenced in this email to (or live chat your answer at and receive a 10% discount when you register for ITIL Practitioner. 

ITIL® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited. AXELOS® is a registered trade mark of AXELOS Limited.

For more information see ITIL Practitioner


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

The Difference between Change and Release Management

Search This Blog