Skip to main content

Application Management Lifecycle

In a previous Blog I spoke to Application Management from the point of view that they do not actually develop the application but manage it throughout its entire lifecycle. This is done through the Application Management Lifecycle along with Operational Models.
Operational Models are the specifications of the operational environment in which the application will run after it has been deployed. This model is used to simulate and evaluate the live environment during the Design and Transition stages. It also ensures that proper environmental requirements and sizing can be documented and understood by all groups or teams involved with application development and management.
Many of you are familiar with “Software Lifecycle (SLC) and “Software Development Lifecycle” (SDLC). These are use by application development and project teams to manage the designing, building, testing, deployment and support of applications.
From an ITIL perspective the Application Management Lifecycle looks at the overall management of applications as part of the IT Services. It consists of six phases and takes a much more holistic view on:
  •  Requirements: How requirements are gathered. There are six: Functional ,Manageability, Usability, Architectural, Interface, Service Level
  • Design: How those requirements are translated into design specifications. This is the design of the application and the operational model. Considerations for both application and system architecture are strongly related and must be aligned at this phase
  • Build: Both the application and the operational model are built, tested and readied for deployment. Testing is part of this and the deployment phases. It is used to validate both the activities and the output of both phases.
  • Deploy: How the application and the operational model are incorporated into the existing IT environment.
  • Operate: How the service is delivered and the performance of the application is monitored and measured against established Service Levels and Key Performance Indicators (KPI’s).
  • Optimize: How the results from performance measurements are analyzed and then acted on. Two Critical Success Factors (CSF’s) for this phase, are to maintain or improve the Service Levels and to lower costs.

An important fact to remember about the Application Management Lifecycle is that it is circular (Fig 6.5 SO pg130) and that the same application can reside in different phases at the same time. For example, a previous version of an application can be live in operations phase, while the current version may be in the deployment phase, while the future version may be in the design phase of the Application Management lifecycle. For this reason strong version, configuration and release controls should be in place.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for th

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with