Skip to main content

Service Portfolio

The service portfolio is made up of three distinct elements.  These are the pipeline, catalogue, and retired services. The services themselves will move through thirteen unique statuses that help to define where the service is currently in its lifecycle. The portfolio represents the complete set of services that is currently being managed by the service provider and in turn represents the service provider’s commitments and investments across all of the customers and market spaces the provider is engaged in. It is a portrayal of all contractual commitments with current customers, new service developments for either current or new customers and any ongoing improvement plans initiated from CSI.  Additionally the portfolio can also contain any third party services that are currently being engaged by supplier management.  It can be presented as anything from a structured document to a database and is a tool that is utilized from service strategy to continual service improvement.

The pipeline element represents all services that are under consideration or development, but are not yet available to customers.  It can include investment opportunities, since these must be traced to the delivery of the service and the value proposition that is under consideration.  This offers a business view of possible future services which may not yet be published to the customer or user communities. This therefore represents the service provider’s strategic vision and future growth direction and should be continually fed by service strategy, service design and CSI to ensure the ability to meet changing customer requirements and to remain relevant in the market space.  Service will move from the pipeline to the catalog normally when the service is moved from development to operations.

The catalog represents all live IT services, including those available for deployment.  This is the only element that is available for viewing to customers and is used to maintain the sale and delivery of IT services. It may have several customer views and shows the services that are currently available for use, how the services are intended to be used, the business functions and or business units the services enable and functionality and warranty (tied to SLAs and SLRs) that the customer or user can anticipate from each service. The catalog in many cases will also list dependencies between services.  This can be presented in the form of service units and or service packages. There are to distinct views of the catalogue. There is the customer view which was described above and there is the technical view.  This is the part of the catalogue used by the IT service provider and is not viewable by the customer or user groups.  This part of the catalogue is used to show the service and the underlying supporting services and IT infrastructure that is used in delivering customer facing services. 

Retired services represent the services that are either in the process of being retired or have already been retired.  Services being retired are ones that are still being used by a portion of the customer community but are no longer available for use by anyone who is not already engaged in using that service.  Retired services are no longer in use by anyone from the user community but are still listed in the catalogue.  Service Portfolio Management will define a policy around how long a service will remain in the service portfolio and works with service transition in ensuring the services are appropriately retired from operation in the live environment.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for th

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with