Skip to main content

DevOps Patterns

In his recent blog ‘Devops Areas - Codifying devops practices’ Patrick Debois explains that DevOps activities typically fall into four patterns or areas.  

DevOps activities typically fall into four patterns or areas. In each of these areas best practice dictates that there will be a bi-directional interaction between Dev and Ops, which will result in a fluid knowledge exchange and feedback from each of the major stakeholders, including Development, Test, Product Management and IT Operations.  

In the 1st area we extend delivery to production. This is where Dev and Ops will collaborate to improve anything on delivering a project to production by creating or extending the continuous integration, deployment and release processes from Dev into Ops. Activities here include making sure environments are available to Dev as early as possible. That Dev & Ops build the code and environments at the same time. Create a common Dev and production environment process while ensuring to integrate Q&A and information security into the work stream. This ensures consistent Dev, test and production environments are built before deployment begins. 

In area 2, all of the information from IT operations (remember we are delivering in small increments) is channeled into the feedback loop to Dev and the rest of the organization, which is then synthesized into knowledge which we utilize to make good wise decisions about how to move forward with our services, applications, systems, processes and workflows. This allows us to create quality at the source and reduce waste. The result should be decreased cycle time and a faster release cadence.  

Area 3 is where Dev takes co-ownership of everything that happens in production. No more throwing it over the wall, since that wall has been taken down. In this way Dev will be initially responsible for their own services. Issues and underlying problems get returned back to Dev by having them integrated into our incident and problem management processes. (Wish I could have done that when I was in Ops). This can lead to Dev cross training Ops and creating a single repository of knowledge for both groups. (SKMS).  

Area 4 is the reciprocal of area 3. Ops is engaged at the beginning of the project lifecycle, so defects and issues get reported faster and escalated correctly to the appropriate teams which results in greater communication and cooperation of efforts. Everyone is getting more work done and the result should be decreased cycle time and a faster release cadence.

For more information:


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you.

Roles and Responsibilities:
Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance.Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables. An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the policies (r…

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service".
I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize:
SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle.
ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs …

ITIL 4 – Mapping the Customer Journey

All service providers are in the business of customer and user experience. It is not enough to compete on products and services, how services are delivered is as important as what is delivered.

The customer journey is the complete end-to-end experience customers have with one or more service providers and/or their products through the touchpoints and service interactions with those providers. In order to focus on the outcomes and on the customer/user experience, service providers are seeking to master the art of mapping their customer journey. Doing so allows them to maximize stakeholder value through co-creation of value throughout the entire value chain.

The customer journey begins by understanding the overall macro-level of steps or groups of activities that generate the need for interaction between the customer and the service provider. These activities begin at “Explore” and end with “Realize” where the value is actually being consumed by the end-users.
The Band of Visibility