Skip to main content

DevOps Testing vs Traditional Testing

Appropriate testing is THE differentiator for high performing IT organizations.

What is the Same?

Tests need to be classified according to the attributes of the system or the product that is to be tested.  Test types include:

Unit Test - This is a method that validates that the code statements satisfy assertions.

Static Code Analysis – Testing that checks source code logic and consistency.  Static testing evaluates code against development standards and guidelines. Code execution is not required.

Dynamic Analysis – This type of testing might also be referred to as “Functional Testing”. In this type of test, code is executed against positive and negative functional scenarios.

Code Coverage – Measures the percentage of relevant lines of code tested.

Integration Test – This form of testing will help to determine if code changes work after a code merge.   Integration testing may also be referred to as smoke test, sanity test or build test.

Compatibility Test –  This is used for testing feature interactions.

Conformance Test – This is where we test to ensure the code/product conforms to standards.

Usability – Tests to evaluate the user experience.

Application Testing – Tests to verify the application functions.

Regression Testing – This is required to ensure that changes made did not break something else.

The list goes on to include compliance, security, performance, acceptance testing and more.  Not all test types apply to all products or organizations and the names may be different.

What is Different?

Testing must happen much earlier in the development pipeline and must also take into account all aspects of privacy, security and monitoring. 

Tests are Automated apart from some nonlinear test types requiring human intervention.  Non-automated testing is limited.

Test Environment and Test Data provisioning self-services increase test reliability.

DevOps Tests including pre-flight tests, are performed in an environment that is equivalent to the production environment of customer deployments.  This limits the risk of false positives.

New Thinking for when and how to accelerate change, become a ticketless IT organization and how to provision for skillsets and structures that shatter silos will continue to be integrated into Continuous Testing and the DevOps Pipeline.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for th

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with