Skip to main content

Tips & Resources for Passing a DevOps or Agile Service Management Exam

Learning the principles and practices of DevOps or Agile Service Management or learning how to become an Agile Process Owner are great, but having the credential that validates that you are certified could be a game changer for you in your career path.  There are many certification courses available from the DevOps Campus so be sure to browse through to find those that are best suited for your or your teams career path or job role function.  If you are just getting started there are a lot of free resources available to assist you on that journey. Two free whitepapers that I found helpful were:

What is DevOps? - This is an in-depth overview for DevOps with a lot of good informationIt’s a great getting started and study guide.

What is Agile Service Management? – Agile Service Management (Agile SM) ensures that ITSM processes reflect Agile values and are designed with “just enough” control and structure in order to effectively and efficiently deliver services that facilitate customer outcomes. It’s a very Interesting and good pre-read before a certification class.

The exams are governed via the DevOps Institute and follow a Blooms Taxonomy method of testing.  let’s talk about some very practical tips for passing the exam.

Study – In addition to your “In Class Materials” You will be provided with a lot of support information including a list of terms, Quick Reference Cards, Study Aids (these are the best because they focus on details needed to pass), sample exams and much much more.  Plan to study at least 1 hour for every day you are in class.  You will not need to surf the net for support material to study as they are provided.

Read – Read the question, Read the question slowly a second time and then … Read through the 4 multiple choice answers.  You will need to select the BEST answer. Is it A, B, C, or D? Watch for and note keywords like NOT, BEST or PRIMARY.  If the expected answer is not listed, then re-read the question. One word in the question can switch up the entire focus.  Frequently the question will scope your answer for you.

EXAMPLE QUESTION for DEVOPS:   In the context of DevOps Principles, which of the following applies?  
The keywords in this example question are “DevOps Principles”. There are only three Principles and they are:
  1. The First Way ßFocus on Flow of work
  2. The Second Wayß- Shortened and Amplified Feedback Loops
  3. The Third Way ß Experimentation and Learning
You will have learned about “DevOps Principles” in class. If you would have caught those words in the question, then you know that the answer is going to be tied to one of these three principles.   Watch for keywords when you read.  The key words are golden keys … they scope questions and unlock answers. 

KNOW THE TERMS – Answer with the knowledge that you learned in class.  Do NOT answer the question based on a subjective opinion or from the way that you do work today.  This is not to say that what you are doing today is wrong, but remember you are being tested on the industry agreed upon definitions and they might be different from what you thought coming into the class. Getting your team level set on the industry agreed upon definitions is a real value-add.

There are many certification courses available from the DevOps Campus so be sure to browse through to find those that are best suited for your or your team's career path or job role function.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for th

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with