Skip to main content

Calling All ITIL Experts

What is an ITIL Expert? 
An evangelist? A champion? A coach?
D.  All of the Above

Holding the ITIL Expert designation (or being an expert in ITIL) means that an individual has a broad and balanced understanding of ITIL concepts and is able to effectively apply and integrate that knowledge to the benefit of an organization.

So, what happens when ITIL evolves? ITIL 4 has been introduced and now it’s time for ITIL Experts to evolve their knowledge as well. But that doesn’t mean simply expanding their knowledge of ITIL.

ITIL 4 provides the guidance organizations need to address changing service management challenges and to utilize the potential of modern technology. This includes integrating Agile, Lean and DevOps concepts and understanding how these concepts influence new ways of thinking and working. So how do we bring these concepts together?
  • Agile Service Management describes how to adapt Agile and Scrum values and practices to ITSM process design and improvement activities 
  • ITSM for DevOps describes how to accelerate and modernize ITSM processes in support of DevOps 
  • Value Stream Mapping Facilitation introduces basic Lean concepts and takes a deep dive into preparing for and conducting a value stream mapping workshop and managing the follow-on continual improvement efforts
By expanding their knowledge of Agile, Lean and DevOps concepts, ITIL Experts improve their ability to interpret and adapt ITIL 4 guidance to an organization’s circumstances and needs.

How can ITIL Experts learn more about ITIL 4?  ITSM Academy is excited to announce that our first Managing Professional Transition course will be held 9/30 – 10/4, 2019.

The Managing Professional Transition (MPT) certification is designed to allow ITIL Experts or individuals with at least 17 credits in the ITIL v3/2011 certification scheme a comprehensive understanding of ITIL 4 concepts. In other words, it’s a ‘bridge’ class.

To be granted the Managing Professional (MP) designation, qualified individuals must complete the Managing Professional Transition certification course and pass the associated exam.

Being granted the Managing Professional (MP) designation means that individuals are not required to take the three Managing Professional practitioner courses (Create Deliver and Support, Drive Stakeholder Value, High Velocity IT) and the universal ITIL Strategist module (Direct Plan and Improve).

Learn More About the ITIL 4 Certification Scheme Here 
This is an exciting time to be an ITSM professional. One reason is we’ve finally stopped debating whether it is ITIL ‘or’ Agile, Lean and DevOps and figured out that it is ITIL ‘and’ Agile, Lean and DevOps. The more we understand about how these puzzle pieces fit together the better we are to help our organizations reap the benefits of the big picture: modern IT service management.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and th

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for the v