Skip to main content

Three Golden Keys to Unlock the Power of Your ITIL Qualification

These “Three Golden Keys” are powerful! They can unlock the power of your ITIL 4 Qualification and will accelerate your journey in the right direction as you achieve one goal after another!

Believe in Challenging the Status Quo With ITIL 4 
Get out of the box. It is a new world. Leaders and teams will succeed by creating an environment to challenge the status quo. You are free, give yourself permission to question the status quo of your organization and invite others to join you. We must stop doing the same thing over and over again and yet expect a different result. Use the idea of a Service Value System, Value Steams and the four dimensions and apply the ITIL Guiding Principles as you “Challenge The Status Quo”. Real change begins with YOU! 

Keep The Momentum Going! 
Getting your ITIL 4 Qualification is a huge milestone in your learning and career path. Once there, the real journey begins. Be sure to get the most value from your accomplishment and the best practices that you have learned. Use it! Honor the past and leverage from all the valuable work and effort that is in play today. Recognize that there will be some areas where we will have to radically rethink the way we do work. Things like security, regulatory and legal requirements will always be there but when and how we accomplish this will need to be modernized and accelerated. So yes, honor the past but don’t be bound to it. To keep the momentum going set short simple goals at first, use what you have learned to achieve them. Set the next short simple goal. Use the idea of systems thinking along with the ITIL 4 Practices and Principles you learned to “Keep the Momentum Going. Continue innovating and continue learning more. Watch for “Managing Professional Transition” and other follow on courses that are available to you and others in your organization. Don’t Stop!

Shift the Culture – Change the way we Speak! 
Words or terms are powerful. To change a culture, we must change the way we think. Once we change the way we think we can begin to get creative about the way we work. Be aware and be very intent to listen for how you and your colleagues talk. You will find that many speak a language of exclusion, a language about “what is not,” instead of “what is” or “what can be”. Using the proper terms that you learned in ITIL 4 certification classes can shift the way you and others think and help to trigger a change in culture. A culture that is energized and empowered to be dynamic. 

Examples of how some organizations begin to change the way they speak: 
Use the term Speed to Value vs. Time To Market. 
(Focus on Outcomes and Customer Value) – Shift for engagement of all stakeholders 

Engagement Plan vs. Communication Plan 
(Focus on Co-Creation of service rather than silos) Learn how to collaborate rather than tell! 

Us vs. Them 
(Focus on integrated cross functional collaboration) – Shatter the Silos! 

Your journey does not end with the ITIL Qualification. Be empowered now. These Three Golden Keys are simple and yet, a very mighty way to begin the journey to unlock the power of your ITIL 4 Qualification. 

...educate and inspire…


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and th

The ITIL® Maturity Model

Most organizations, especially service management organizations, strive to improve themselves. For those of us leveraging the ITIL® best practices, continual improvement is part of our DNA. We are constantly evaluating our organizations and looking for ways to improve. To aid in our improvement goals and underscore one of the major components of the ITIL Service Value System , Continual Improvement .   AXELOS has updated the ITIL Maturity Model and is offering new ITIL Assessment services. This will enable organizations to conduct evaluations and establish baselines to facilitate a continual improvement program. A while back I wrote an article on the importance of conducting an assessment . I explained the need to understand where you are before you can achieve your improvement goals. Understanding where you are deficient, how significant gaps are from your maturity objectives, and prioritizing which areas to focus on first are key to successfully improving. One method many organi

The Four Ps of Service Design - It’s not all about Technology

People ask me why I think that many designs and projects often fail. The most common answer is from a lack of preparation and management. Many IT organizations just think about the technology (product) implementation and fail to understand the risks of not planning for the effective and efficient use of the four Ps: People, Process, Products (services, technology and tools) and Partners (suppliers, manufacturers and vendors). A holistic approach should be adopted for all Service Design aspects and areas to ensure consistency and integration within all activities and processes across the entire IT environment, providing end to end business-related functionality and quality. (SD 2.4.2) People:   Have to have proper skills and possess the necessary competencies in order to get involved in the provision of IT services. The right skills, the right knowledge, the right level of experience must be kept current and aligned to the business needs. Products:   These are the technology managem