Skip to main content

How to Move and SHIFT the CULTURE!

There are three core frameworks that can help us to shift the way we think, do work, and ultimately shape the behaviors and values that are the heartbeat of our organizations - CULTURE! Each of these models can be used to identify, analyze, and move an organization to new heights, new ways of collaborating and increasing speed and value for service consumers.

Models for learning how to "Shift the Culture!”

  • Erickson Model – Identifies the stages of psychosocial development 

The Erickson Model helps as a starting point for “Where are we now?”.
  • Westrum Model – Focus here is on the organizational types:
 - Pathological
 - Bureaucratic
 - Generative 

The Westrum Model helps providers get detail on the behaviors within their organization and teams. 

  • Laloux’s Culture Model – Frederic Laloux’s model provides a clear picture of how culture may evolve in an organization. Laloux expands the concepts of the two previous models.

The model comes from Reinventing Organizations – a landmark book in the development of organizations that unleashes the talents of people to get astonishing results. The book is grounded in case studies from organizations around the world that are succeeding in a new way of working. The book has inspired and helped many see what is possible. Here the focus is on the “Advice Process” and others that interact with the Ericson and Westrum models.

These models and more relating to CULTURE are addressed to ensure the success of many service management frameworks including; ITIL, DevOps, Agile, LEAN and others!

ITIL – CULTURE is a key element in all aspects of ITSM and is described in great detail in one of the four dimensions - Organizations and People.  Actually, culture is covered at some level in every ITIL certification course.

DevOps - CULTURE is one of the core principles of DevOps and the need to focus on CULTURE is addressed in the DevOps FND, DevSecOps, and DevOps Leader certification courses from ITSM Academy's DevOps Campus.

Agile – At its core, Agile Service Management (Agile expanded to ITSM and more of the value stream) has lessons for shifting the culture that are supported by the Agile Manifesto.

LEAN – Increased flow of work and removal of waste happens when there is a change in CULTURE!

Learn about these and other concepts that exploit CULTURE as a critical aspect for your service provisioning. 


Tom said…
Looks like a good post. I can't see the images at the moment though.

Thank you for alerting us to this issue, Tom! It's been fixed :) Happy reading!

Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you.

Roles and Responsibilities:
Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance.Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables. An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the policies (r…

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service".
I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize:
SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle.
ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs …

ITIL 4 – Mapping the Customer Journey

All service providers are in the business of customer and user experience. It is not enough to compete on products and services, how services are delivered is as important as what is delivered.

The customer journey is the complete end-to-end experience customers have with one or more service providers and/or their products through the touchpoints and service interactions with those providers. In order to focus on the outcomes and on the customer/user experience, service providers are seeking to master the art of mapping their customer journey. Doing so allows them to maximize stakeholder value through co-creation of value throughout the entire value chain.

The customer journey begins by understanding the overall macro-level of steps or groups of activities that generate the need for interaction between the customer and the service provider. These activities begin at “Explore” and end with “Realize” where the value is actually being consumed by the end-users.
The Band of Visibility