Skip to main content

Drivers for the Various CSI Orders or Levels

In a previous blog we discussed the revised 7 step improvement process.  Step 6 of that process is to present and use the information.  There are various levels of management in an organization. When presenting this information and implementing improvements it is important to understand which level to focus on and have a good understanding of the perspectives of each level and what their drivers are. This will enable us to derive the maximum value and benefit out of the information delivered.

First order drivers:  At the highest level of the organization are the strategic thinkers.  The reports delivered at this level need to be short, quick to read and deliver precise data about risk avoidance, protecting the image or brand of the organization, profitability and cost savings.  These are the drivers that will support your reasons for improvement efforts.

Second order drivers: The second level of management is occupied by vice presidents and directors.  Here, reports can be more detailed and must summarize findings over time.  Defined is how the processes delivered support and underpin the business objectives and enable the organization to react early and quickly to issues that put the business at risk.  They will also illustrate how these processes are aligned to our existing measurement frameworks which enable us to define the health of the business from the perspective of the IT organization.

Third order drivers: This third level of management is made up of managers and high level supervisors. At this level reports and measurements need to demonstrate compliance to stated objectives and overall team and process performance. They should provide insight into resource constraints and continual improvement initiatives.

Fourth order drivers: At this level are the team leaders and staff members.  Reports must emphasize personal benefits.  Metrics must define individual performances, provide recognition of skills and identify training and career growth opportunities.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for th

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with