Skip to main content

Service Design Package (SDP) and the Service Catalog

Both the Service Design Package (SDP) and the Service Catalog are produced in the service design stage of the service lifecycle and to some extent both drive the activities that happen in all subsequent stages of the service lifecycle.  The SDP will detail all aspects of a service and its requirements throughout the entire lifecycle.  A service design package is produced for all new services, major changes to an existing service or the removal of a retired service.  

From a high level the service design package will contain the following:
·   Business requirements

·   Service applicability requirements (how/where used)

·   Service contracts

·   Service functional requirements

·   Service and operational management requirements

·   Service design and topology (including service definition and model

·   Organizational readiness assessment

·   Service Program (timescales and phasing of transition, operation and improvement of the new service)

·   Service transition plan (overall transition strategy, objectives, policy and risk assessment).

·   Service operational acceptance plan (overall operational strategy, objectives, policy and risk assessment).

·   Service acceptance criteria (acceptance criteria for the progression through each stage of the lifecycle)
The service catalog provides a single source of information for all operational (live) services, services that are about to go live and are currently being prepared for deployment to the live environment.  Your service catalog can initially start as a simple matrix, table or spreadsheet.  As you grow your ITSM processes in maturity, your catalogs sophistication can grow along with them.  Many organizations will integrate their service portfolio and their service catalog and maintain them as part of the Configuration Management System (CMS).
The service catalog can be produced with two distinct views available. You can have the business/customer view which relates IT services to business units and processes.  This view represents what your customers will see.  The second view is the technical/supporting service view.  This relates IT services to supporting services and to the underlying components that underpin the delivery of the IT services and business functions.  This includes items that will not be viewed by the customer.  Both will enable proactive service level management and quicker more effective incident and change impact analysis.
Some critical success factors (CSF) that should be accomplished by the service catalog and service catalog management could be to produce an accurate and up to date catalog.  This should lead to a greater awareness of the services being provided to the business and should also enhance the IT staffs ability to support these services and their related underlying technology more efficiently and effectively.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you.

Roles and Responsibilities:
Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance.Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables. An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and the policies (r…

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service".
I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize:
SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle.
ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the needs …

ITIL 4 – Mapping the Customer Journey

All service providers are in the business of customer and user experience. It is not enough to compete on products and services, how services are delivered is as important as what is delivered.

The customer journey is the complete end-to-end experience customers have with one or more service providers and/or their products through the touchpoints and service interactions with those providers. In order to focus on the outcomes and on the customer/user experience, service providers are seeking to master the art of mapping their customer journey. Doing so allows them to maximize stakeholder value through co-creation of value throughout the entire value chain.

The customer journey begins by understanding the overall macro-level of steps or groups of activities that generate the need for interaction between the customer and the service provider. These activities begin at “Explore” and end with “Realize” where the value is actually being consumed by the end-users.
The Band of Visibility