Skip to main content

Process Maturity – How can I Assess it?

A process is doomed if you ever consider it done!  Unlike an audit that examines evidence to determine compliance, a process assessment is conducted to evaluate and organizations strengths and weaknesses.  The assessor will ensure that this baseline is utilized to identify process improvement opportunities that ensure business outcomes.

The ITIL Process Maturity Framework (PMF) was defined specifically for ITSM processes and consists of five levels of maturity.

·         Level One – Initial
At this level there is not a defined process, there are some procedures and few results are retained.
·         Level Two – Repeatable
At this level of maturity there is a recognized process but the objectives are not clear and targets are not formalized.
·         Level Three – Defined
It is at this level of maturity that the process is defined and documented and there are agreed upon targets.
·         Level Four – Managed
A managed process at this level is well defined, interfaces and integrates with other processes and objectives for measurement are based upon business goals.
·         Level Five – Optimized
Very few processes reach this level of maturity where the process in institutionalized within the organization, strategic goals are aligned with business goals and the process is optimized to dynamically improve as the demand and business needs shift.

These are brief descriptions for each level and in and of themselves do not ensure that your process has reached that level of maturity. In order to assess fully that your process has reached a specific level the assessor must utilize the checklist of characteristics or criteria to determine the true level of maturity within your organization.  Assessments are generally comprised of interviews with key stakeholders in the process including the customer, the practitioners, the business representatives and more to determine if the criteria in the assessment checklist is met for each level. 

This is a great book for information on designing and reengineering processes for IT Service Management and has a lot of information and guidance for ongoing process improvement.

If you are trying to establish your process maturity, information and sample reports along with additional frameworks such as CMMI and IPAF for performing self-assessments are offered via ITSMF International:

The assessor could be an internal staff member but caution is needed to ensure skillset, knowledge and objectivity.  You will have to agree the scope of -- process only -- people and process -- people, process and technology/tools -- or perhaps a comprehensive assessment including people, process, technology, culture and organizational structure is in order.  The time allocated to the project will be determined by the scope.

If you are interested in developing this skill set, training and certification for Certified Process Design Engineers can be found at:


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and th

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for the v

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the