Skip to main content

The Different Types of Service

In the Strategy stage of the Service Lifecycle there are several questions an IT service provider must ask in order to determine the services they should be delivering, whom they should be delivering them to and is value creation and capture possible.  They are:  What is our business? Who is our customer? What does the customer value? Who depends on our services? How do they use our services Why are they valuable to them?  Given the answer to those questions, the service provider can then determine the types of services to be delivered, resources needed and what risks and constraints need to be identified and managed.  

There are three types of services the provider will have to consider, supporting services, internal customer facing and external customer facing services.  Services whether internal or external are further broken down as core, enabling or enhancing.  

Here we will be looking at supporting, internal and external facing services.
  • Supporting Services:  A service that is not directly used by business, but are required by the IT service provider to provide and support other IT services.  They allow the IT support teams to identify and document the interdependencies between IT components or CIs.  Supporting services enable IT processes and services but are not usually visible to the customer.  Often supporting service are combined together in order to make the delivery of customer facing services possible.  Supporting services are usually managed by Operational Level Agreements (OLAs) which underpin SLAs.
  • Internal customer facing services: An IT service that directly supports a business process.  An Internal customer facing service is identified and defined by the business. They rely on an integrated set of supporting services which in most cases are not seen or understood by the customer.  Examples of this type of service may be sales reporting service or an enterprise resource management service.  These types of services are managed according to a Service Level Agreement (SLA).
  • External customer facing services: An IT service directly provided by IT to an external customer and is offered to meet specific business objectives defined in the organization’s strategy.  These maybe business services in their own right as they are utilized to conduct the business of the organization directly with external customers.  Depending on the organizational strategy these services can be offered free of charge or can be billed directly to the person or organization utilizing service.  These services can be offered for free to the customer, but are paid for by a third party such as a sponsor or advertiser. An example maybe free internet access at an airport.  These services are managed by a contract with terms and conditions that must be met by both parties.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and th

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for the v

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the