Skip to main content

How Can the ITIL Maturity Model Benefit Our Organization?

Written by Greg Smith, originally posted in OwlPoint News, September 14, 2021

What is the ITIL Maturity Model?

The ITIL® Maturity Model is a tool used to objectively and comprehensively assess an organization’s service management capabilities and the maturity of the organization’s  Service Value System (SVS).

AXELOS is about to release the new ITIL Maturity Model which OwlPoint – the most tenured AXELOS Consulting Partner in the US – will use to assess clients’ service management capabilities.

Why would an organization need an ITIL assessment?

There are three main reasons an organization would want to have an ITIL assessment performed:
  • To achieve a desired level of certification and/or meet contractual obligations, they must meet a pre-defined level of maturity and capability.
  • They have undertaken a Service Management implementation or improvement initiative and need to validate the project goals have been met.
  • They are preparing to undertake a Service Management implementation or improvement initiative and want to determine current state and identify improvement recommendations targeted to meet their organization’s objectives.

How would my Organization benefit from an ITIL assessment?

The result of an assessment is knowing where you are – your current state rating in ITIL maturity and capability. This current-state knowledge can be used in the following ways:
  • Once you have an initial assessment, in the future you can use this current state knowledge to compare against the results of a previous assessment using the ITIL Maturity Model.
  • Once sufficient data exists from assessments using the ITIL Maturity Model, you can compare the results of your ITIL Assessment against others in your industry (“benchmarking”).
  • The most beneficial and immediate result of an ITIL Assessment is as a key component of a Service Management Improvement Initiative.
There are three parts to any improvement initiative:

1. Knowing where you want to be (your goals and objectives)
2. Knowing where you are (your “current state”)
3. Identifying how to get there (recommendations)

With your organization’s goals and objectives in mind, an ITIL assessment identifying the current state helps an AXELOS Consulting Partner, such as OwlPoint, identify recommendations. From there, the Consulting Partner can determine improvements to prioritize and how to implement them. This will help an organization achieve optimum Service Management improvements.

For more information on the ITIL Maturity Model and ITIL Assessments, see our Q&A on the topic.

If you’d like to learn more about the partnership between OwlPoint and ITSM Academy, or about planning an ITIL Assessment for your organization, please contact us.


Popular posts from this blog

What is the difference between Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner?

I was recently asked to clarify the roles of the Process Owner, Process Manager and Process Practitioner and wanted to share this with you. Roles and Responsibilities: Process Owner – this individual is “Accountable” for the process. They are the goto person and represent this process across the entire organization. They will ensure that the process is clearly defined, designed and documented. They will ensure that the process has a set of Policies for governance. Example: The process owner for Incident management will ensure that all of the activities to Identify, Record, Categorize, Investigate, … all the way to closing the incident are defined and documented with clearly defined roles, responsibilities, handoffs, and deliverables.  An example of a policy in could be… “All Incidents must be logged”. Policies are rules that govern the process. Process Owner ensures that all Process activities, (what to do), Procedures (details on how to perform the activity) and th

How Does ITIL Help in the Management of the SDLC?

I was recently asked how ITIL helps in the management of the SDLC (Software Development Lifecycle).  Simply put... SDLC is a Lifecycle approach to produce the software or the "product".  ITIL is a Lifecycle approach that focuses on the "service". I’ll start by reviewing both SDLC and ITIL Lifecycles and then summarize: SDLC  -  The intent of an SDLC process is to help produce a product that is cost-efficient, effective and of high quality. Once an application is created, the SDLC maps the proper deployment of the software into the live environment. The SDLC methodology usually contains the following stages: Analysis (requirements and design), construction, testing, release and maintenance.  The focus here is on the Software.  Most organizations will use an Agile or Waterfall approach to implement the software through the Software Development Lifecycle. ITIL  -  is a best practice for IT service management (ITSM) that focuses on aligning IT services with the

Four Service Characteristics

Recently I came across several articles by researchers and experts that laid out definitions and characteristics of services. ITIL provides us with a definition that can help drive the creation of value-laden services: A means of delivering value to customers by facilitating outcomes customers want to achieve without the ownership of specific costs and risks. An area that ITIL is not so clear is in terms of service characteristics. Several researchers and experts put forth that services have four basic characteristics (IHIP): ·          Intangibility—Services are the results of actions not things. They have no physical presence and represent a logical set of elements. One way to think of service is “work done for others.” ·          Heterogeneity—Also known as “variability”; services are unique items because of the mechanisms used to deliver services-that is people. Because the people element adds variability, the service is variable. This holds true especially for the v